Hardcover - April 2007
Putnam Adult; ISBN 0399154167
ISBN-13 9780399154164

Katharine Lawrence has no idea what hit her. The attack came out of nowhere. Only hours earlier she had been enjoying a girls-only weekend with an old college friend. Now she finds herself lying bound and gagged on her kitchen floor, staring with terrified eyes at her friend Lisa while two masked gunmen search her house for – what? She doesn’t know. She only knows that, unless they can escape, whatever it is could end up getting both her and Lisa killed.

But Katharine’s nightmare is only just beginning. When she awakens in a Washington hospital, her nose crushed, her body battered, her brain tells her things aren’t right – and it’s not the attack that’s disorienting her. She doesn’t recognize herself when she looks in the mirror: her slim body, her manicured hands, her blond bob. And the smiling, handsome doctor at her bedside – Dr. Dan Howard – is familiar, but in a totally unfamiliar way. Perhaps the trauma of the attempt on her life has given her some kind of weird amnesia. She’s twenty-nine, the special assistant to the head of the CIA, and she’s lucky to be alive. She also knows she can trust no one.

Acting on instinct, Katharine runs for her life, with Dan, her new-found protector, at her side. By turns grateful and unnerved by his presence, and unable to shake a feeling of profound dread, she allows Dan to spirit her to a secluded safe house. Instead of finding a haven, they stumble into a tangled web of government conspiracy, leaving Katharine confused, frightened, and desperate to uncover the truth. As the pair is drawn further into this shadowy world where almost nothing is as it seems, as fear gives way to a firestorm of attraction, the cat-and-mouse game grows more deadly, and soon both of their lives are at stake.



"Robards delivers an intense romantic suspense novel that links an out-of-the-blue beginning with a dynamite ending in riveting and unexpected ways. With vibrant characters and a great plot, this is one of bestselling Robards’s best, and a must-read for fans of Nora Roberts and Linda Howard."
-Booklist


"(A) creepily effective suspense novel...a real gripper."
-The Seattle Times


"Readers will love OBSESSION, a stunning and powerful tour de force thriller...Karen Robards proves once again that she is a stupendous storyteller."
-Midwest Book Review


"A page-turner...Robards' novel...spins satisfaction out of appealing characters who fall in love and bad guys who get justice."
-Publishers Weekly


"Twisty and terrifying...a top-notch romantic thriller!"
-RT BOOKreviews